LengerichKA88

Online Small engine course suggestions.

LengerichKA88

I’m new to small engines, but I’ve gotten into them a lot over the last month or so. I’m a stay at home dad, so my FIL suggested doing online courses in Small Engine Repair. I know not everyone here’s a hobbyist, so I’m hoping some one has a recommendation or two for online courses, both in regards to cost and quality. TIA

• Like 6

ebinmaine

:text-yeahthat:

I have learned Sooooo much here on Redsquare.

I'd be interested to see what the answers are as well.

• Like 1

LengerichKA88
9 minutes ago, ebinmaine said:

:text-yeahthat:

I have learned Sooooo much here on Redsquare.

I'd be interested to see what the answers are as well.

I’ve learned a lot as well, but it would be nice to not have to run to the computer to figure out everything haha! Like I’d said in another post when I first joined Red Square “I know more than nothing but that’s about it” 😂😂

• Haha 2

Rob R

In the New York, Putnam county area Boces has some great basic engine courses for minimal cost and they will get you going but in the end you really need to jut get the courage to dive into all aspects of engine repair up to and including rebuild. I had a friend who simply put out a sign wanted old not wanted small engines.... in a matter of weeks he had like 10 mowers and tractors. Started tinkering and taking them apart fast forward to today and he is a respected small engine repair guy...… just saying...… 

• Like 5
  • Excellent 2

WHNJ701

over the years I picked some really good service manuals and basically taught myself.  one thing I tell people if they are interested in learning is find old engines even if they are incomplete or broke.  just take them apart and try to troubleshoot what happened to it.  unless you plan on setting up a machine shop it's the basics fuel snd spark.  biggest thing to learn is carb rebuilding.

• Like 3

LengerichKA88