dv800special

modern LED lights on a 68' 800 special

dv800special

Hey guys, Im looking for some insight on a lighting issue i'm having. I've got a 1968 800 special, its kind of a Frankenstein, i replaced the motor with a kohler  k301 (12hp) This was my fathers that was left to me and the stock headlights are/were terrible so i picked up some 6" light bars from tractor supply and was hoping i could just throw them on and they work....wrong. They both worked great while it wasnt running, but once it was started both lights went out and wouldn't work after that. My guess is they're burnt out? I ran wire from the battery to relay switch then to the lights. I'm not good with wiring and was hoping that it would work...? but apparently not. Any help would be great, thanks!

ZXT
39 minutes ago, dv800special said:

Hey guys, Im looking for some insight on a lighting issue i'm having. I've got a 1968 800 special, its kind of a Frankenstein, i replaced the motor with a kohler  k301 (12hp) This was my fathers that was left to me and the stock headlights are/were terrible so i picked up some 6" light bars from tractor supply and was hoping i could just throw them on and they work....wrong. They both worked great while it wasnt running, but once it was started both lights went out and wouldn't work after that. My guess is they're burnt out? I ran wire from the battery to relay switch then to the lights. I'm not good with wiring and was hoping that it would work...? but apparently not. Any help would be great, thanks!

If you were powering the lights directly off of the battery, you shouldn't have had an issue.