AHS

Kohler K16

AHS

I’m looking into this from another guy who has a K 16hp for sale. What I want to know is will it power a PTO ... what I mean by that... was Wheelhorse Spec’d that Kohler have a second set of bearing behind the PTO. @ebinmaine and I talked about this. @Greentored Anyone else have any information? I will get the serial # and post it up here tomorrow.

AHS

What I mean by the last message that; the K341 had two bearings (PTO side) in ALL of them? Or just the one produced by Wheelhorse? I just want to know what I’m getting into here.

• Like 1

ebinmaine

:popcorn:

• Haha 1

Greentored

Unfortunately I'm still kinda new to the Kohler stuff and wouldn't dare to guess. Sorry bud.

Truthfully, never even heard of this, so i'll be following to learn something as well.

• Like 1

Handy Don

I am not an expert but what I've gleaned from reading is that WH specs to Kohler for certain builds required built-in bearings capable of handling the end-force of the PTO. Clearly, Kohler made engines for LOTS of customers and not all had these specs. The fact that a PO put a Kohler in a WH doesn't mean it was a suitable engine.

For example, many WHs used an electric clutch PTO. These didn't need internal or external side-thrust bearings so why add the expense?

pfrederi

All  K341 series used two ball bearings.

K Series Twins and Magnum Twins did not use ball bearings  therefor WH spec models have a special thrust bearing.  Several B&S engines had to have external thrust bearings added by WH.

Edited by pfrederi
  • Like 4
  • Excellent 1

AHS

Ok, what your saying is I can put a PTO on any K341, and it will be able to handle the snowblower.... the snowblower unleashes the most torque out of a motor!! Isavetractors has two ball bearing in each of the Kohler K rebuild kits. @pfrederi

pfrederi

No problem for K341 and snowblower.  here is mine..  Edit this is an older picture she now has Electro16 Stickers...

IMG_0063 (3).JPG

Edited by pfrederi
  • Like 2