BrianX128

New to me 417A

BrianX128

First post here, browsed around before when I needed a new engine for my old C161 eight speed, Ended up putting a magnum 14 in it I found near me on craigslist and found some good info on here that really helped. I'm a big fan of tinkering with old mowers, trucks, chainsaws and weed eaters. Despite the fact that I'm a network admin for a hospital which has nothing to do with that, I picked up too much of my tinkering habits from my grandfather growing up haha..

I bought a 417A that a local guy near me had rebuilt last night, the thing is in pretty darn good shape. It must have had a couple of rust spots, but he patched those very well and the hydro is strong and the engine is smooth, no smoke and seems like it has really good power. I'm not a fan of hydro stuff, but I have a big yard and my wife wants to help mow some over summer. She's an english teacher and has the whole summer off, so I'm not going to argue with some help but she can't shift or grasp how not to fly down a hill after getting used to the C161 stopping when you press the clutch until the trans is in neutral when she shifts. It's just not happening, but I'm always cool with buying another mower. We have a zero turn, and I have a old 52 vac that was my grandfathers with a woods finish mower but she can't drive those either she almost kills herself on hills with the zero turn and I don't want her driving the vac so here we are.