uk175horse

K341 Hard Starting

uk175horse

I've got a C-175 with an Kohler K341 (dark blue colour, which I believe was a replacement/export version?)

I've had it a few months, and was starting pretty well, but last few starts have needed 4-5 attempts at cranking to get it going. But it runs and idles pretty well once its going, ran fine for 30 mins +

I'm pretty new to the whole engine game, so want to keep this Kohler engine and get it running nicely but trying to figure out what to do first. 

I replaced all the fuel line and cleaned out the fuel tank when I first got it, aside from that drained and re-filled the oil, and gave all the fins/exterior a clean. 

I took the spark plug out and its sooty black, as is the muffler. Also checked the points gap, looks like its about 0.016" , but definatley under 0.02" , waiting on feeler gauge with more increments!

Got a new gasket set, so I'm thinking first thing is to take the head off and inspect the cylinder and valves to get an idea of the condition.

Not sure if its worth replacing anything else yet - maybe the plug?

Worth trying to adjust the carb or points gap? 

• Like 3

WHX??

Yes start with the points at 020. Yes definitely adjust the carb and consider a cleaning. 

Sounds like the rest of your plan is a good start. 

• Like 5

ebinmaine

Seconded. .. except I'd just go right ahead and clean the carb. THEN Adjust it. 

I'd check the fuel pump condition as well. 

They're not the best at pulling fuel that far while not primed.  

• Like 6

kpinnc
2 hours ago, Ed Kennell said:

Sounds like a candidate for a primer bulb.

:text-yeahthat:

Number one issue with a fuel tank under the seat. Makes mine fire on the second revolution. Saves your battery and starter too. 

• Like 5

SylvanLakeWH

:text-yeahthat:x2

Work like a charm...

IMG_0639.jpeg

• Like 1
  • Excellent 1

953 nut

:WRS: