redone

Balance gears kseries

redone

Hi Guys. 

Just a little frustraed, ok, I 've installed bother primary. Second dary gears. I am rusty about the timing mark is to be aligned with crank shaft or primary gear tooth? 

Those diagrams and old style pictures really don't get to details. 

Thank a lot

Bill 

• Like 1

Horse Newbie

I am working on a K341 Kohler right now that provides the heartbeat of my 1977 C-160. 
I really didn’t do much to the engine-thank the Good Lord for that because I have very little to no experience with small engine internals.

So last weekend I took a little road trip (about 37 m) up to @kpinnc’s stables so he could help me( actually he did it) remove the balance gears in the K341.

After reading posts and talking to Kevin, I decided the balance gears had to go. He said if anything ends the life of the K341, it would be the balance gears.

Something about if they let go, they may instantly install a window in the block.

He did caution me that removing them would cause the engine to have more vibration.

I decided to remove them knowing that, so out they came.

We also lapped the valves and reset the valve adjustment.

@Lee1977 dropped by and helped also.

IMG_3158.jpeg

IMG_3160.jpeg

IMG_3157.jpeg

IMG_3156.jpeg

Edited by Horse Newbie
  • Like 1
  • Excellent 2
  • Thanks 1

ebinmaine

Another vote for "leave em OUT".  

I have 2 running driving K341s. 

The one without balance gears has a different frequency of vibration but I'm not sure it's more. Just different.  

I won't be leaving them in any Kohler engine I take apart. 

The more we know about the amount of potential issues involving the balance gears the more I believe they should be removed and tossed. 

• Like 2
  • Excellent 1

Gasaholic

I've had no trouble with Balance Gears, BUT!