dr363305

‘88 520H blowing 30A fuse randomly

dr363305

Hello and good day. 

I have 1988 520H that is new to me. When I purchased it, the wires for the charging circuit were not connected and the gauges didn’t function. I wired it up per the wiring diagram and everything was good for a bit. Recently, the 30A fuse has been popping. There are no faults to ground that I have found. I put a voltmeter across the fuse holder and got 13.94V at idle and 15.6V at full throttle. Could the voltage regulator be causing this issue? Or am I completely wrong? 

Any assistance is appreciated! Feel free to flame me as well for being inexperienced with the Onan platform as well.

Snoopy11
8 minutes ago, dr363305 said:

15.6V at full throttle

15.6 is considerably more than it should be. I would say that you need a new regulator... but more testing may be required. I am no electrical expert, so take what I say with a grain...

@Jeff-C175...

Don

• Like 1

Snoopy11
15 minutes ago, dr363305 said:

15.6V at full throttle

One other suggestion... run a ground wire from battery negative to regulator bolt or metal body of regulator and see if that makes a difference in charging values. :eusa-think:

Don

• Like 3

dr363305

Now that I think about it, I should be testing across the battery for charging voltage. I am not sure if measuring across that fuse means anything.

• Excellent 1

Snoopy11
7 minutes ago, dr363305 said:

I should be testing across the battery for charging voltage

Honestly, I'm not sure that it should matter. When I have bench tested my engines, I test voltage output directly from the charging output terminal on the regulator with no positive battery connected (only using negative on battery to ground the engine). I've never had one that was grounded correctly go above 14.6... :eusa-think:

Again... I disclaim... I am not an electrical guru!!!