WH1618speed

2-stage snowblower chain issue

WH1618speed

Hi everyone, I got a Wheel Horse two stage snowblower recently and the chain fell off. it was quite loose with the tensioner being maxed out. I took the chain off and it was incredibly stiff. I am going to soak it in some new oil and see if that does the trick but I didn't see any kind of other way it could be tightened. I am new to these 2 stages as only having the single stages before. The snow blower itself is in incredibly good condition but the chain is really stiff. I realize the gear box sprocket is out of alignment because I had to loosen it to remove the chain but it was perfectly aligned prior to. 

IMG_0618.jpg

IMG_0619.jpg

• Like 1

stevasaurus

If everything is good, maybe take out a link??

• Like 1

roadapples

I personally wouldn't take a chance on that chain. Tractor Supply or ebay you can buy 10 ft for about 20 bucks....

• Like 3

lynnmor

There is a block that rides against the chain, the early ones are wood and the last one had plastic.  Look at the parts diagram and you will see it.  The block is adjusted by loosening two bolts and moving it till nearly all slack is removed.  Since the chain was neglected and rust formed inside the links, I would replace it because that tension block takes too much of a beating.  Those chains need to be oiled after every use and the tension checked.

• Like 2
  • Excellent 1

peter lena