moe1965

854 restoration project

moe1965

I purchased this tractor about a month ago and put a few posts up that some of you might have read and responded to a few of my questions. Thank you all by the way. Here is where I am at now I was told that the engine was running about a year ago I doubt that because of the things I have found wrong with it such as the exhaust valve was stuck in the open position I have corrected that problem among a lots of other things lap the valves and today I fired it up for the first time it's at and purred like a kitten. I rewired the ignition switch and put in a solenoid which was a chore for me because I'm not that good with electrical. I'm trying to work out as many bugs as I can before spring such as I have to replace all of the seals in the rear end which is my next project come springtime it's going to get a total paint job pictures to follow. Here is another question what spark plug is correct for this engine it currently has a j19lm Champion spark plug in it. Thanks in advance Merry Christmas to all.

20181201_134219.jpg

20181209_113901.jpg

20181209_115653.jpg

20181225_110753.jpg

• Like 6
  • Excellent 2

ebinmaine

Nice looking ride and good work so far.

Plug should be a J8C I believe.

Replacing transmission seals will be easy enough.

Just be sure to put a piece of electrical tape or something over the groove of the shafts when installing the new seals to prevent cutting them.

Pulling the hubs can be quite a challenge.

Not sure if you have attempted that yet.

• Thanks 1

moe1965

I have replaced seals in my other two tractors and made a puller out of a old hub. I know they can be a pain but I thank God I have a lot of patience because you don't want to force them. 

Edited by moe1965
  • Like 2

ebinmaine
1 minute ago, moe1965 said:

made a puller out of a old hub

Perfect !!

Pullstart

@moe1965  it’s your ride, do as you wish....  but if it were me I’d try to clean up that patina and let it be..

WHNJ701