Sign in to follow this  
HorseFixer

Let's See How Good You Guys Are!

HorseFixer

Okay here is the deal I went out and measured the stable it is 25 X 12 = 300 sq ft. I thought it was 400 sq ft but I guess I was thinking of the concrete that was poured and the large porch that is on it. Anyways the calculations are based on that size with three exterior walls exposed, 2X4 construction with R-13 fiberglass insulation and a 4' service door that is insulated. Inside temp 70 deg outside temp 5 deg You can vote and If you want to get closer and enter the contest just post your answer here in the threads. I have done a manual J <<< "heat loss calculation" and will post the results at the end. Lets make it a week from today! Good Luck :hide: The winner gets a DVD of last years 2008 WH show in PA, mailed directly to your door, that is when I do em this winter!

pond195520032003

well im not that good at this :hide: but i went with 30.000 BTU's :D

Rollerman

I went with the candle route.....just call me a fire bug....LOL

bk-scouter

:hide: dang it, I voted, but I should have asked this first, did you insulate above the ceiling or attic space ?? :D

-BK

Nick

From the 43,000 btu pellet stove heating this drafty house with no wall insulation I came up around 8,000 btu but rounded up to 10,000. Wouldnt warm up fast but might keep them Horses warm eventually. :hide:

HorseFixer

:hide: dang it, I voted, but I should have asked this first, did you insulate above the ceiling or attic space ?? :D

-BK

Their is no attic, It is insulated with R-13 and is roof ceiling combination. The real vote the closest is right here so just tell me how many btu's the poll is just for those who dont want to enter the contest!

daemon2525

It depends on whether you intend to keep it warm all of the time or just while you are out there.

If you keep it warm all of the time, it'll work with 20k. If you want to warm it up in an hour, it'll take about 50K.