Sign in to follow this  
mavfreak

School

mavfreak

That's right I'm going back to school!

In 95 I graduated from auto mechanics school and went to work!

In 97 I was offered a job working in a fab shop which I would be starting at over double the money than what I was earning as a mechanic, so I jumped ship and went there for almost 13 years! While there I bid my way into the welding department and primarily used a tig welder.

Anyway they sold the company and the new owners moved they fab shop to Mexico. So I looked for work for almost a year now, because of my very specialized welding experience it was hard to come by.

So one day my wife and I were reading the paper (shes unemployed also) and she was pointing out jobs for me in there and she starts saying about auto technicians needed. Light bulb!

because my job went to Mexico I get free schooling after much debating and research I decided that's were I'm going to go. So come May 23rd I start school! This time it an associates degree!

O boy!

VinsRJ

Congrats and good luck...... Change is not always a bad thing and there is always new paths to blaze! :thumbs:

racinfool40

:thumbs: Good luck Mav!!! Being a layed off welder also I know the feeling..Since I have started working on lawn mowers-Lawn tractors-chain saws-weed eaters and anything to make ends meet and now so busy I don't know were to start!!! Hope all works out GOOD!!! :wh:

C-Series14

Go get'em school boy!!! :thumbs: never to old to further your edumacation!

Horse-Drawn

Good for you! :wh: I went the opposite route... 2yr EET degree then auto mechanic for 20yrs. Now, I'm using my degree & wondering why I didn't in the first place. :thumbs: However, both are VERY handy in my hobby of small engines and power toys :D

Hope you find the same happiness & success!

mavfreak

It'll be strange being the old man in the class, The one instructor I met is 4 years older than I.

sgtsampay