Sign in to follow this  
mavfreak

Unemployment

mavfreak

Well come in january I'll will be unemployed for almost a year.

I lost my job when the company decided it would be a good idea to move the manufacturing to Mexico.

Now I have been looking for a new job. yesterday I had an interview at another place. It went so well I was sure that I would be hearing from them. Well I did. And I didn't get it. I was told that I had a great work history and would fit well in there company but was overqualified for the job. I have heard this from time to time.

I worked as a welder at my former job. I did all types of welding and fitting I know how to read blue prints. 80% of what I did was small parts and I used a TIG. Most of these places I am finding looking for welders there faces light up and they get excited that I'm a TIG welder. One place said they just fired the only person they had that knew how to TIG and I did a nicer job than he did. So why didn't I get the job. Well over qualified means I made to much money where I worked. But I need a job and understand that I have to start at the bottom and work up.

I had gone to another job prospect and they was looking for a welder. But found out that according to them welders are a dime a dozen and that's what the pay there welders they start at 9 dollars an hour and top rate is 10.50. But he thought I would be a better fitter which is 14 an hour. But unforchantly he didn't need any at that time and he would get back to me. I just seen a posting for a fitter at that place this morning.

I'm getting sacred that I'm going to lose my touch after not welding for almost a year.

I'm just frustrated and venting here guys.

VinsRJ

I feel your pain, as we speak my company is in the process of selling off our division..... so I'll be pounding the pavement also. Keep your head high and know in yourself that you can do anything :thumbs: At the end of the day things work out and happen for a reason.