Sign in to follow this  
Horse'n Around

I found a little toy to fix up

Horse'n Around

I used to have a Rupp minibike when I was a freshman in HS. As the years have gone by, I have often wished that I still had it so I started watching for one . I found this on Craigslist for $35.00 a week ago in Tucson so I went and bought it. It had no engine in it, its supposed to have a HS40 in it, I had this little HS30 sitting around. The exhaust post faces out the left side instead of out the rear of the engine.The gas tank is dent free and the rest of the minibike for the most part it is in pretty good shape. I have the headlight and tail light for it as well as the complete wiring harness.There is some rust on the rims but oh well I think I did good for $35.00 :thumbs: These things have become collectable, Who would have thunk it??? Im in no hurry to get it done, actually I wanted a Black Widow or a Roadster 2 which has 12 inch rims, this is a Roadster, which has 10 inch rims.I might fix this up and sell it and buy a Black Widow or a Roadster 2 like I really want So for now Im on the lookout for a complete HS40 to put in it.

I just thought I would share my little find with you.Believe it or not, the one I had went 45 MPH, the have a clutch like a snomobile has and as the RPMs increases the "geaing" changes.

John

Picture060.jpg

Picture059.jpg

chris11

Very cool John do you have the handle bars too?

Horse'n Around

Very cool John do you have the handle bars too?

Nope, its missing the handlebars and the clamps and the gas cap. Im keeping an eye out for some handlebars and the clamps and such, I see them on Ebay from time to time.Im sure glad it was stored inside a shed so the open gas tank didnt get filled with junk and end up rusted on the inside.

John

smokin joe

My other hobby is collecting and restoring old honda mini bikes.What ttype of handle bars does that take?If they are fold downs i may be able to help you.Good luck with it!!!

Don1977