Sign in to follow this  
perry

free anti-spyware

perry

anybody have a decent free anti-spyware that i can download from website?

i have been milking this old trend-micro spyware CD for a few years now, but they will no longer honer any updates. i downloaded the free AVG virus scan and its been great. my cheap butt does'nt want to spend the $70 a year on a macafee CD.

T-Mo

Spyware? What's that? I have a Mac, so what's spyware? :thumbs:

But, seriously though, spyware and viruses was one of the reasons I went to an iMac last year. Spybot that Karl is good and there were a couple more that I tried. And you could consider a Mac. :thumbs:

perry

thanks karl, ill give that one a try and see if i like it.

ill look into what XP has also.

nylyon

The best things you can do to protect yourself is:

1. Don't go to suspicious websites (you know the ones :thumbs: ) If it seems too good to be true, it probably is

1a. Don't download free software which is usually sold for money. Many of these "warez" contain viruses, Trojans (like the horse silly) or worse. If it sounds too good to be true, it is!

2. If you have DSL or Cable get a router it hides your PC from the internet even if you only have 1 PC connected

3. Firewall, at the very least use Windows Firewall. ZoneAlarm is pretty good and Free

4. Virus protection - USE a good virus program AVG is pretty good.

5. Be careful with e-mail attachments. If you don't know who sent it to you, it is bad and should be deleted.