Sign in to follow this  
illinilefttackle

GARDEN PLOWING?

illinilefttackle

:thumbs: I hope you guys don't get tired of these Rookie questions- I live in Indiana-northern indiana-when should I try to plow my ground for a garden? Obviously I should wait till the ground thaws out-but how do I tell its ready to be plowed?

I think I can find out the planting schedules-but I don't have a clue on plowing-Thanks_AL :thumbs:

Rollerman

Al if you'd like some practice...come out to my place today & will heat the brinly till it's cherry red.

Might break the frost up then & get my lake to go away?

I don't have an answer for ya...but I'd say late April maybe?

I'm a newbie with plowing to & learning a great deal with the replies to your questions!

And if your tractor is not ready by then.....I'll be happy to bring over one of mine & we can try with it.

Jim_M

When you you can take a handfull of dirt and squeeze it into a ball in your hand and it crumbles apart, it's time to plow. If you plow when the ground is too wet you'll have hard packed ground all summer long.

You're usually better off plowing in the fall and then running a tiller over it in the spring.

hoosier

Guys,, Jim M's advice is dead on. :thumbs: You might get hooked on plowing though. It's one of my favorite things to do with my tractors. I run out of garden to plow long before I'm tired of doing it. :thumbs:

CasualObserver

That's a favorite tractor activity of many folks... that's why JD and IH both have multiple "plow days" throughout the spring and fall" Gets me to thinking though... while we're always invited to bring our horses out to plow... we don't have a Wheel Horse plow day? Gravely has their "mow in"... I guess for Wheel Horses... all we have is the "haul'in" to whatever shows we can manage to attend. :thumbs:

kpinnc

When you you can take a handfull of dirt and squeeze it into a ball in your hand and it crumbles apart, it's time to plow.