ohiofarmer

Identity theft by a hospital on a closed insurance account?

ohiofarmer

If the headline in this topic appears to clickbait after you read this,I apologize. if my problem helps someone else out, then i guess it's OK

Years ago, I learned to carefully scrutinize billing by health care providers and insurance providers. i was insured under my wife's work policy and the company talked us into going with HSA instead of the PPO with much cheaper deductible. Their hook was that they would contribute money each year to build up your HSA deductible. That would have been fine if I hadn't gotten sick and needed chunks chopped out of me to get better.....One month after sign up and dealing with it in the middle of benefit years.  So i am a battle scarred veteran in the civilian sense of the phrase.That experience taught me that the easiest way to deal with things is a five dollar a month payment to all the little parties until everything gets fairly dealt with. That tactic protects your credit score and makes you such a bookeeping nightmare that providers really want to resolve the issue.

i survived that and it took one year to finally get the billing party to realize they mis coded a procedure so the insurance paid off.