Wheelhorse#1

K181 loosing power

Wheelhorse#1

I have a problem with my4 speed b80.It looses steam with mower deck engaged as well as just putting around unless its flat.I did put bigger tires and wheel weights.

Compression is over 150,it has fresh rings and rebuilt carb and pump.Runs great otherwise.

I have never used this machine to cut grass before ,issue was probly always there just noticed.  

Im leaning towards governor issue ,maybe not adjusted correctly  ? Too much weight ,tires too big ?

It will cut and does a great job but its a struggle.

Any ideas folks ?

thx 

IMG_6332.jpeg

IMG_6295.jpeg

Edited by Wheelhorse#1

squonk

How did you set the timing? I.ve had a couple of engines where they seemed to struggle and were louder than most. Timing was way late on both of them

Edited by squonk
  • Like 1

Wheelhorse#1
9 minutes ago, squonk said:

How did you set the timing? I.ve had a couple of engines where they seemed to struggle and were louder than most. Timing was way late on both of them

Top dead center with feeler gage.  

JoeM

I have a C85 that runs the same. Actually, took the deck off and though something was dragging but it is good.

I can't remember what I set the points. Mike @squonk might have the answer. I am going to check this one. I like setting them a little tight. Seems to make them run better. 

I was selling this machine and had to tell the buyer it was anemic and he would not be happy. So right now it is just sitting.  

• Like 1

squonk
1 hour ago, Wheelhorse#1 said:

Top dead center with feeler gage.  

I would reset them like this 

• Like 1
  • Excellent 2

Wheelhorse#1

Ok got it fingered out.Two things.The throttle cable was too short so the adjustment on the gubbner was off as well. She's running like she should now.