jaypad

1973 16 Auto Hydraulic Fluid?

jaypad

Newbie here. After trying to spend some time to learn a few things about this tractor I inherited it seemed to make sense to join this forum. Since I'm new, might as well share a pic of the beast I own too right?

spacer.png

Anyway, on to the topic. My hydraulic fluid has been leaking for some time now, slow leak from one of the hoses. I recently had a new one made and plan to install it this weekend. One thing I'm still stumped on is what hydraulic fluid i need to purchase to fill the tank back up. The fluid itself was a red color and in my digging I thought i saw something tied to my tractor and saying "HD SAE 10." When I tried searching that online it wasn't like i was given a bunch of options of that exact fluid to purchase. Plus I'm not even 100% sure that's what I need. Figured someone here might have better knowledge of this and be able to steer me toward the product I should purchase to refill my hydraulic fluid.

Charbs152

If its red, its ATF....

WH also recommended 30W motor oil, many here myself included use mobil1 10w-30...

you cannot mix engine oil and ATF though so stick with the ATF

Edited by Charbs152
  • Like 2

Ed Kennell

:text-welcomeconfetti: to the :rs: If the fluid is red or pink, it has automatic transmission fluid.      Some  owners converted their Sundstrand Hydros to SAE 10W30 motor oil.    Both have proven to work equally well.      The two fluids must never be mixed and care must be taken to ensure complete removal before changing to a different fluid.  I would not switch.

The 16auto is a beast of a snow remover......thanks for posting the pic.

• Like 4

Ed Kennell

I didn't realize the 16 hydro came with an electric PTO.    Can anyone verify these were factory installed or owner conversion?

jaypad

Appreciate the quick responses. Anyone care to dumb it down even further for me? ha. Like does that mean i can just get any ATF fluid or is there a specific kind i should be looking for?