matt monte

How to remove trans dipstick

matt monte

Happy new year to all. let me start off with saying im new to the tractor scene but can fab/weld/paint/etc and look forward to diving into this awesome hobby. I recently got a new home on a bigger parcel requiring a garden tractor to mow, push wouldnt work. Anyway i bought a used 260 series for that. A month ago i picked up a 312-8 with a plow attachment just devoted to clearing driveway in the event of snow. I saw this basket case on marketplace and couldnt resist. plans are for a complete tear down and rebuild. P/O stated he broke dipstick tube accidently when removing rear faring. Said starter fried, and he  was removing engine in an effort to clean and repaint tractor. guy lost interest, and sold as a basket case with "most parts" . I know im all over the map here, just trying to give the back story. The trans related questions are : how to remove and replace dipstick and is there a way to make these rims work? Meaning spacers are something so stock fuel tank will work? Kinda liked the look however if they are not practical, or more of a hassle ill search for stock. My plans are to replace any gaskets or seals but would prefer not to have to rebuild eng/trans myself, im more of a assembly guy. Ive done a few 57 chevys, im aware of limitations and when it pays to have the right person handle a certain task. Im not taking anything else apart until i research a few builds done. Havent really found anything yet. Thanks in advance for any advice or answers to my questions

20210102_210328[1].jpg

20210102_210317[1].jpg

20210102_210309[1].jpg

• Like 7

wallfish

The plastic trans tube is threaded into the hole in the trans. Unscrew it

• Like 5

matt monte

not sure if u saw pic, i dont have much material to work with,lol

ebinmaine
4 minutes ago, wallfish said:

The plastic trans tube is threaded into the hole in the trans. Unscrew it

:text-yeahthat: