Richard England

Testing a Hydro Pump and Motor

Richard England

So my D160 blew it's orings under the pump.  I replaced them, including backup o'rings, changed the oil and filter and it ran fine for a few hours.  Now I have no forward or reverse or movement at the lift cylinder. I put a pressure gauge to check the charge pump, also one at each release valve hose under the left fender.  All read zero.  The pump produces flow, not pressure, so is that okay?  I would think the charge pump port should be under pressure to feed the piston pump.  I thought that the maybe the charge pump is not getting oil?  So I changed the filter thinking that since it does not have a bypass, it could be restricting the flow of oil.  That did not work.  Of course not, the filter is on the return side. 

Next step I removed the pump, opened it and I don't see any issues. (of course I have never done this before so what do I know)   Next I removed the rear end, motor and transaxle.  I made a wooden plate to cover the 2 big power ports and the 2 small suction/return ports so I can pump air into the drive port.   That did not work.  I even noticed that air would come out of the oil fill on the tran case.  Should it have?  I decided to remove the motor and take it apart, I did not see any issues.  The transaxle looks fine, I can turn the gears by hand, and all the teeths look good.

So I have a few questions, but I really want to know how can I test pump and motor without oil?  If pics help I can take some.

JoeM

There will be an hydro expert along I figure shortly. The only time i lost all oil on mine was when the coupling input coupler failed. I know you said you had the pump off, so I figure that would have been obvious. 

tom2p
2 hours ago, Richard England said:

So I have a few questions, but I really want to know how can I test pump and motor without oil?  If pics help I can take some.

I can't recall any pump or motor tests performed without oil