Lefty 57

312-8 1991 model Confusing Key Switch Wiring, Please Help!

Lefty 57

Hello, I am a new Wheel Horse 312-8 owner. I am also still a newbie here in the forums, although I have read many posts and learnt a great deal from fellow Wheel Horse owners.  I am over the big pond as I live in Oxfordshire in the UK.

I am having a puzzling time whilst replacing the Ignition key switch on my 1991 model 312-8. I am replacing the original very corroded key switch part number #111215 with a Toro replacement part number #103991, both switches have a 5 pin black plastic connector block and a single white plastic ground lead attachment to the six pins on the back of these key switches. On looking at the wiring diagram in the "Demistify" PDF download, page number 378 for my 312-8 1991 model it shows the following connections at the key switch terminals:

S-Tan wire to Solenoid/Starter

B- Red wire to Battery

A- White wire to Accessories? ( I thought the white wire goes to the Regulator, so should the white wire not go to the key switch terminal marked R ?)

M- Dark Blue wire to Magneto

R- Pink wire to regulator? ( I thought the pink wire goes to the accessories, so should the pink wire not go to the key switch terminal marked A?)

G-Black wire to ground/earth. ( This is the separate white socket that has the black earth wire.)

I have looked at the wiring diagram and also lots of posts here in the Electrical issues section. I found a post entitled "Where is the mistake" which describes a wiring diagram error on the Magnum 300 series engines just like mine. Please can somebody clarify exactly where the pink and white wires go to on the key switch on a 1991 model 312-8 model number R112K803. My aching brain is just telling me to switch the two wires over. White to terminal R and pink to terminal A. Is the wiring diagram correct? Or am I correct, please can somebody here help?

Edited by Lefty 57
grammar correction
  • Like 1

gwest_ca