1988SS

314 - 8 - Fine Tuning Mower Height

1988SS

Is there a way to get a 3" cut? The rear roller are at max height. I'm just learning the machine and it seems the front wheels(48" side discharge) are not designed to adjust cut - just float. I assumed the previous owner set everything up right but at raised position the deck is not touching the tractor frame - could this be the solution? Also, it takes a lot of muscle to raise the deck - normal??

I just love using the classic  Wheel Horse in my neighborhood where almost everyone has new disposable machines.

Ed Kennell

You are correct, the front rollers are just to prevent scalping on rough terrain.  They normally do not touch.     The deck not touching the frame when in the raised transport position  should not have an effect on the cutting height setting.   That is controlled by the rear wheel height and the deck is leveled by the threaded rod connecting the rear wheel assembly to the deck  support fame.       To get a higher cutting height, you could install larger rear wheels and/or use the adjust-a-matic height control on the deck lift lever.

Oh, yes 48" decks and snow blowers are heavy and hard to lift.      That's one reason I  have all  Hydros with hydraulic lifts.

Edited by Ed Kennell
  • Like 1

peter lena

agree with ED  above ,  easy to go to larger rear wheels , martin wheels at tractor supply might be  you want , and also tweeking your available adjustments will help you get the height you want. i used a larger 6" wheel and added a higher hole to my deck adjustment ,lever setting ,  giving me the consistent cutting height i want , pete  

Lee1977

I did this to a 42" deck that i used to mow around the edge of the hay field.

SAM-1006.jpg

• Like 1

oliver2-44

I replaced the rear wheels on my 42" deck with 7" wheels.  That was about the largest size I could install.  It works good now with a higher cut!

Edited by oliver2-44
  • Excellent 1

1988SS

Thanks for the great advice.

Capecodderlawn