ondeadlin

C-160 drive belt help

ondeadlin

First post, so a little background. Last July, after a little research, I ditched my plan of buying a big box tractor and found a really nice condition C-160 automatic for sale here in Michigan. Great back story - original owner family, original manuals, and a hand-written note he had left for his wife before he died telling her how to start and run the tractor. She did use it for a few years, but was officially retiring from mowing, and I bought it from a friend of their family. Under 200 hours on the gauge, but it was inoperable and probably had been for a long time.  Came with a decent 48 inch deck, grader blade, snow blower, tiller, and a sweeper and a thatcher that were both third-party.

I have no background in tractors, let alone Wheel Horse. I'm a guy who is comfortable laying down a wood floor or doing basic wiring, but could not rebuild an engine. So once I get it on site, I read the manuals, check the fluids, clean the deck and sharpen the blades, and use it all last summer and fall to cut grass. Late in the year, I change out the deck for the grader blade and grade out the gravel driveway. Two weeks ago, I check the fluids again, I take the grader blade off, put the mower deck back on, and mow a big meadow we have (that gets mowed once a year), as well as the first cut of the normal mowing.  Some of the meadow moving is a bit thick and involves some brush, but I'm cutting with the deck as high as it goes and there are no issues. At this point, I feel like I know how everything is supposed to sound, and everything sounds normal.