FAST

Snow thrower, chains, extra weight question

FAST

I’m brand new to the snow thrower on the front of a tractor game so I have almost no experience with this. I used my snow thrower for the first time today and it’s really obvious I need tire chains front and back, at least on the back tires for sure, and more weight on the back of the tractor. Any suggestions from you snow throwing professionals out there? Looking for a place to get chains that are good, at a cheap price. and any tips on adding weight to the rear quick and cheap. I don’t have anything obvious like old weights laying around to throw on the ball on the back. So any tips would be great. Cash is low atm but snow doesn’t care about that 😂. I also had the chain break on the thrower at the end of my last pass so I hope all I need is a link to fix that before the next round of snow hits. Thank you for any suggestions. 

nylyon

I just bought a set of 2 link from the ROP shop  for about $60. Check local craigslist for wheel weights many other brands fit, I have a set of Craftsman 55lbs on my 310.

• Like 1
  • Excellent 1

BOB ELLISON

First off what tractor are you using it on.

Camper antifreeze or windshield wiper fluid. I use camper antifreeze in my rear tires it works great.

Not car antifreeze. 

Chains yes.

There are some great guys here that will help you

• Like 2

FAST

Sorry this is on a c-141 1979 I believe is the year. Thanks so much for the ideas. Good to know other brand wheel weights works

Edited by FAST
  • Like 2

AHS
6 hours ago, FAST said:

Sorry this is on a c-141 1979 I believe is the year. Thanks so much for the ideas. Good to know other brand wheel weights works

Good tractor! Those are my favorite series of tractors... tougher than nails!

• Like 1

953 nut

Liquid filled tires wit RV Antifreeze is the most economical weight you can buy.

SIZE                 GALLONS Per Tire                WEIGHT in POUNDS

• 16x6.50-8               2.0                            21.4