klink

C101 8 speed transmission brake shaft oil leak

klink

Hi Guys 

I recently bought a C101 tractor at an auction. One of the defects is the transmission oil leak at the brake shaft. I'm looking for oil seal replacement help. Such as do I need to split the transmission and if so which side of the transmission should I face down in the vise in order to lift the other half up to open. Is there any other items to replace while I'm repairing the transmission? Any and all advice help is welcome. I got the tractor running after installing a new set of points. 

IMG_3260.JPG

IMG_3262.JPG

ebinmaine

Nice find.

You do not need to remove the transmission to get that seal out.

I'm not very good at verbalizing what I do to take one of those seals out but basically I use 1/4 inch screwdriver and kind of smash into the seal and then use the holes that I've made as my leverage points.

There are others that use a regular seal puller and that is probably the better way to do it but I don't have one nor do I know how to use it.

Be sure to thoroughly clean or better yet replace the brake shoe.

The Tuul Crib

I would be real careful also of the needle

bearing  immediately behind the seal. I have destroyed one before . A small screw

driver with a small hook on the end should 

do the trick.put grease on the shaft and seal and use a socket a little bigger than the shaft to gently tap it  back in place.

Good luck!

oh and  :text-welcomeconfetti:to 

:rs:

Edited by The Tool Crib
  • Like 1

klink

Thanks Guys for getting back to me. 

drained oil out of trans-axle. Then I got the old oil seal out by drilling 3 small holes in the outer metal part of the oil seal and picked out with a scribe tool. I will be buying a new seal soon. I also put on a new main shift rod rubber boot.  

Thanks

Edited by klink
update
  • Like 2

klink