Kate

screeeeching!

Kate

I'm new to this mower stuff. I got it started and mowed once. This time, got it started and pushed the lever to engage the blade and it screeched

so loud and horrible! I turned it off. This did not happen last time. Help please.

JAinVA

With everything off, check to see if the blades rotate freely.It sounds like the main drive belt slipping because of a bad spindle bearing or something preventing the blades from rotating.

• Like 1

adsm08
1 minute ago, JAinVA said:

With everything off, check to see if the blades rotate freely.It sounds like the main drive belt slipping because of a bad spindle bearing or something preventing the blades from rotating.

I second the motion.

A few weeks ago I watched/heard/smelled the guy two doors down smoke his spindle belt after clogging his deck with grass clippings to the point where one blade couldn't turn. We dropped his deck, cleaned it, grease it, and put a new belt on. He had to make a few passes, lowering the cut height each time, but he got her done eventually.

Take the deck off if you can, pull it out, inspect and clean the under side, make sure all the blades spin freely by hand, and get everything with a fitting greased. 

An old and/or worn belt can also make a nasty noise because it just can't grip well, so if the belt is more than a year or two old, or if it came from TCS just replace it while you are there.

• Like 1

The Tuul Crib
1 hour ago, adsm08 said:

I second the motion.

A few weeks ago I watched/heard/smelled the guy two doors down smoke his spindle belt after clogging his deck with grass clippings to the point where one blade couldn't turn. We dropped his deck, cleaned it, grease it, and put a new belt on. He had to make a few passes, lowering the cut height each time, but he got her done eventually.

Take the deck off if you can, pull it out, inspect and clean the under side, make sure all the blades spin freely by hand, and get everything with a fitting greased.