Sarge

Calling all Sparky's - wiring 1ph drum switch on lathe

Sarge

Ok - I'll be the first to admit it >

I am no Electrician.

I can do basic cords, outlets and have installed a few panels (with a sparky buddy to approve/guide) - but that's my limit. Most things I can look at a diagram and figure out on 1ph equipment - but for some reason, I just cannot wrap my half-dead skull around wiring this motor correctly on my son in law's lathe. It was wired to run in one direction only - I suspect that is due to someone that owned it previously couldn't figure it out either, lol. Need both directions functional so I can run some operations to make parts for my own Enco, which is about to undergo some fairly major repairs to worn parts. Without a second and operational lathe - can't repair the other one that is leaking and about as sloppy as a lathe can get, mine has been badly abused.

Here is what he's got - older Craftsman 6" lathe. Basically, the late 50's version of the Atlas/Craftsman. Single phase Craftsman general purpose 1hp motor - dual voltage. Furnas R44-C drum switch with Forward/Off/Reverse positions. From what I've read for the last 2 wks, most setups on single phase motors require the double "L" configuration in the drum switch - this one is set up differently and by the diagram in the cover can seem to handle both single and three phase motors. Where I'm really lost is inside the motor itself where the wiring is on the board terminals and how the wiring diagram is laid out on the motor tag.

Here's what we have -

Craftsman 1hp motor - Model 113.12151 Cat. 1215

1420383580_20190218_1510051.jpg.f26c1ca5763f4a140a2ce4a92b4d2be5.jpg

This is the Furnas R44-C drum switch - need to set this up to run the motor on 1ph 115VAC. The switch handle is oriented at the top of these drawings.

I think the starred note on the lower right drawing for the split phase motor use is for a jumper wire?

1056378118_20190218_1521151.jpg.cd6a63bd57a6125a15c3ac954a62d055.jpg