JessMorgan

Grinding in rearend/transmission

JessMorgan

Hi, everybody, i am a newbie here, who could use some advice. I recently bought my first wheelhorse from and auction with my grandfather. Its a 1979 b111 six speed,  in fairly decent shape. My dad and i have been working on in together and got it running, but i think we have a problem. I rode it only a few feet because there is something grinding in the rearend or transmission. Even when you try to push it in neutral it will roll for like a second then it stops and the wheels wont move like its in gear. The gear shifter seems messed up also. If anybody has an idea of what could be wrong with it  or how to go about fixing it, let me know. Any feedback or comments will be greatly appreiated. 

953 nut

:WRS:

Chances are your shift lever is in two gears at once. This thread should solve your problem. Once you remove the dog-point screw and shifter you can move the shift forks into the neutral position.

Mike'sHorseBarn

Is your transmission a six speed or a 3 speed? Also, it's nice to see someone else from central pa, welcome to the forum! 

stevasaurus

Welcome to Red Square.