hoghead04

416-8 resurrection

hoghead04

Hi guys! I'm a newbie here. I have a 1993 I believe, 416-8. It hasn't ran in about 10 years. My dad shut it off one day and when he tried to start it back up it wouldn't fire. Its a 16hp Onan with 61 hours on the meter. Yes 61 hours. I want to bring this baby to life so I may need some advice from time to time. Its missing a little paint here and there and a little rusty but still has life. I'll get some pics up soon. I have a new battery to install and the project begins. Thanks for looking!

• Like 3

WHX??

:WRS: Hog... Yes 61 hrs is hard to believe. Get that new batt in and check to see if the hr meter rolls with the key in on. Check the fuses and fuse block. Pull a plug to check for spark or use a tester. Other things to check but will start with the basics. Others will be along to greet you and offer troubleshooting tips.

Edited by WHX14
  • Like 2

hoghead04

Thanks Jim. Will do. I'm gettin horse fever and really want to hear this Onan roar again. It ran great and has the 42"RD deck which mowed beautifully. Been long overdue

• Like 3

WHX??
7 minutes ago, hoghead04 said:

I'm gettin horse fever

Atta boy.... yes a 416 particularly with a 8 speed is a great all around tractor! :handgestures-thumbupright: After a ten year sit you may want to check fuel lines, filters, fresh gas & shot of sea foam.

Edited by WHX14
  • Like 1

hoghead04

I certainly will Jim. I'm no mechanic by any means and have not worked with an Onan myself. I appreciate your input. 

WHX??

No worry LOTS of Onan pros & experts  here... Even tho I have four of them I'm not one of them tho! :)

• Haha 1

Sarge

I'd drain the fuel and oil before ever attempting to turn it over. Fresh fluids go a long way. Hopefully it didn't sit with a load of ethanol-laced fuel in it - that will result in a bad set of issues.

Sarge

• Like 2

Achto

:text-yeahthat: and :WRS:

• Like 1

PeacemakerJack