Sign in to follow this  
bigtruckmechanic

building high hp puller

bigtruckmechanic

I'm new to red square, so here goes. I started a wheel horse pulling tractor (because everyone always uses a cub cadet) about 6 months ago. I'm useing a B-60 chassis with a lot of mods. The engine is a 40 cube kohler with about 50-60 hp. I'm using the 8 pinion rear-end that was in the tractor. I read a post that Deere Hunter replied to, he said it would hold if everything was in good shape and he installed loader axles. My question is what are loader axles and is there anyway of eliminating the low range like the 3 speeds ?

ol550

:hide: :D:hide::omg::omg::D:party::party::party::D

I don't know what he was talking about but doesn't the B-60 have 1 inch axles?

Nick

The loader axles were heavy duty axles recommended for use with duals when a loader was installed. But if the existing axles are in good shape I dont know how much they would help. Wayne or one of the other pullers would know though.

ol550, The B60 did have a 1-1/8" axles and 8 pinion transmission.

JimD

:hide: big. if you don't use the low range, why would it need to be eliminated? just curious, never thought about it before. i have a b-60 and use it to mow and plow snow, but i don't use the low range because i have better luck with speed when plowing the driveway. thanks.

bigtruckmechanic

my b-60 does have the 1 1/8 axles. When I took it apart it looks like that would be the week point the way the range gear slides over the other gear for direct

Deere Hunter

My question is what are loader axles