Sign in to follow this  
oak9665

what kind of tractor can suit my needs

oak9665

Im new to wheel horse tractors im wondering what model i should look for i need something to do light weight gardening tasks like plowing soil cultivating and tilling. is there a specific model with a CAT 0 3 pt hitch ,shaft PTO , diff lock and independent brakes?

hodge

:banghead: There are a number of models from WH that would fit most of your requirements, but you won't find any with a diff lock or independent brakes. If you need that, you may need to go to a small tractor...

Most any horizontal shaft, heavy frame WH tractors will handle light gardening/etc.

Sparky

I think the independant brakes were an option on the "D" series but not a differential lock. My "D" has the 3 point but not the fancy brakes.

The D-250 might have all those features.

Mike..........

hodge

I think you are right, Sparky. I should have looked before speaking :imstupid: - by the photos on the site, it looks like the D's and the 250 came (or could come with) dual brakes. Maybe the 250 also had a diff lock?

Guest fireman

I had a 1974 D200 and found what was called a turning brake kit for it (Brand new in the box :banghead: ). Had rotors that bolted inboard of the hub on the axle along with independent calipers. The pedals had a latch that would let you use them together or seperate. The only problem is I sold it before realizing what I had :USA: ! Did I mention that it had front and rear PTO, ARK550 loader and the elusive Brantley backhoe!!!

I know, I know :imstupid: :imstupid: :imstupid: :imstupid: :imstupid:

linen beige

:banghead: The D series had as options three points, front and rear ptos, and turning brakes. The brakes can be used to limit the slipping of one wheel so the other can gain traction, maybe not as good as a diff lock, but it works. Finding a D is not too hard. Finding a D with all those options might be a little difficult.

KyBlue