Amanda B

Kholer KT17 - on a 86? WH 416-A

Amanda B

Hope you can help, I have a nice old tractor that frankly I am quite fond of,  its a 416-A 86 I think, Kholer horizontal shaft KT17QS motor in it..  purchased new by my father.. Runs like a champ.. In general... But,  Has one major recurring problem however, Starts to get harder to start as the season goes on..

I find I have to use the choke, turn it a few times.. to start it more and more..Then starts to have issues of running rough when hot and stalling under load or when the deck is engaged.. Till it finally starts hard, runs ok, but even cold engage the deck stalls..  

I don't know a lot about small engines, but been doing more and more reading online and youtube university :)   also seems to me, not that I am a expert.. but as it gets serviced when it finally just will not run underload  or when it really warms up runs like crap..  A simple service seems to fix it, so I like to figure out what it is that is causing this so I can just tune it? as the problem develops.. For the last couple of years, It develops this issue, Last summer like the ones before I sent it off to the local shop, gets a worked on.. comes back runs good again. but other than a vague ok normal service they never seem to say specifically what they did.. In the past I did things like replace the coil, replace the points.. replace the spark plugs, new fuel, fuel attitives.. mess a bit with the idle setting screws on the carb.. heck even try the run without the gas cap on thing..   still not quite right..  Give up.. send it off comes back running good..