Influencer88

Squeal when letting clutch out

Influencer88

I have a new to me 94 Wheelhorse 312-8 with the 42" side discharge deck. Its in decent to rough shape, missing a few of the safety parts like the PTO pulley cover, the pulley at the front's cover is missing... But safety and cosmetics aside, once I get this tractor in good working condition I'll start getting it in good looking condition.

Now for the squeal,

Its happens more in 3rd or 2nd gear than 1st, but when I let the clutch out or if I"m going up a steepish incline there is a squeal from what sounds like the left side although I'm not certain about the origin.

I'm very new to this tractor and not sure if there are area's I can adjust the belts. Actually just destroyed the PTO belt today because I didn't know how to adjust the belt tension.

I'm very willing to put in the time to get this tractor up to par, for what I paid its well worth the investment and from what I've read will last me many years.

Also, if anyone has the input, when engaging the PTO if I connect the PTO safety switch it will shut down, seat switch has been bypassed, what else should I look at?

64s

I also have a '94 312-8 and it did not come with the PTO belt cover - I don't think it was avaiable then.

As for the squeal, I have it also.  Its the belt -I think, and there is no adjustment.  It could also be the pulley, either engine or trannie, but I'd put my money on the belt.  My belt is original and they do get hard over time.  Test yours out by playing with the clutch.  Let it out slowly and then fast, also mix up the engine speed while playing with the clutch.  If its what I think it is, you should hear the squeal differently or not at all sometimes.  At low engine speeds and a quick clutch release, I don't have a sound, but at full throttle and a slower clutch release, there's the squeal.  It never concerned me enough to want to take apart the belt cover and check things out, I just focus on the music of the Kohler.  :)