Dave607

1996 312-8

Dave607

Hi all, I'm a super newb here, as in this is post one. I've looked around this fourm and this seems to be the place for all things Wheel Horse.

Here's my question. I need a decent lawn tractor and my old farmer neighbor has this Wheel Horse tractor in his barn ( he bought from the original owner,his neighbor, another old farmer who became too sick to live on his own).

Anywho, the tractor looks and runs pretty darn good for an older tractor. It would come with 2 42" decks (rear and side discharge) wheel weights, chains, and a snow plow. Being that I'm a know nothing...is $1000 out of the ball park? Plus I kinda like the old guy and he could use some help with money.

Please let me know what you fine folks think.

Hi I'm Dave!

post-12563-0-43152800-1392694965_thumb.j

• Like 3

AMC RULES

Price isn't crazy for everything included...

been maintained, how's it run?    :scratchead: 

:WRS: 

• Like 1

Dave607

The man take good care of his equipment! I crawled all over this thing, no rust, started up first try after sitting in his barn since October and purred like a kitten. All the attachments are in equally as good of shape. No smoke when running either!

• Like 2

AMC RULES

Sounds like a win for the both of you then...

let us know how it goes.  :handgestures-thumbsup: 

• Like 1

Dave607

I don't really know...well, anything about Wheel Horse tractors, other than my internet study. Is this Wheel Horse a good model?

I most certainly will update and thanks for the replies. I could use all the help I can get on this one.

• Like 1

roscoemi

Wheel Horse is rock solid. Plenty of parts around and you are on the best forum around, there's nothing to lose! :)

• Like 1

Dave607

I remember someone mentioned in my reading that Toro kinda monkeyed with the line some, and the machines weren't as good. Then I've read others saying the exact opposite. So I'm guessing I might as well pick this up? It's not a ruined Toro?

ThreeHorses