Sign in to follow this  
cod

replacing hydraulic hoses

cod

When one is replacing the hydraulic hoses for the lift cylinder, is it possible to use teflon tape on the male fittings?  I have to hoses that connect to the lift control and both have small leaks.  I'm using the replacement Toro hoses so they "should" be correct but I'm puzzled as they have a tapered thread and when I put them on I made sure they were tight.  While I don't have a problem taking everything apart again to fix the leak ( as practice makes prefect ), I'd like to get it right so any pointers would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

cheesegrader

I'm no expert, but I have been told NOT to use teflon tape on hydraulic fittings.  It can break free, circulate in the system, and damage the pump.

On my tractors, hydraulic leaks have been from bad O-rings, and from leaks in the swivel section on older hoses.  Tape wouldn't help either one of these problems.

MalMac

I second that, no tape. Check your o-rings and replace. Make sure you do not over tighten. It smashes the o-ring and causes tiny tears.

brandonozz

Teflon shouldn't get into the system if installed on the male threads ....but if you ever remove that fitting the tape will be in the female threads and could get pushed into the hydraulic system when you reinstall the fitting again .....and teflon is not good in oil service. It can degrade in oil service, get gummy and the fitting can become loose. As mentioned above, find the real problem and put in new "O" rings and lubricate the rings before installing to help prevent damage to the o ring.

Edited by brandonozz

Jeff-C175

they have a tapered thread

They do?  You sure?

cod

they have a tapered thread

They do?  You sure?

Another reason to take pictures... ;-)