Sign in to follow this  
sdwyer41

Wheel Horse Virgin

sdwyer41

I just purchased a my first wheel horse.  It is a 310-8, in great condition, 36" rear discharge deck, no rust that I have seen.  I did have to buy a new carerator for it. ($125).  I do have a question, I traded my 15 year old snapper 9.5 horse 28" cut mower for it.  That's a pretty good trade isn't it?  I mow about a half to three quarters of an acre, but it is all at a slant, with tree roots and such everywhere.  The poor snapper would get the front of the mower deck caught on things from time to time, it just wasn't going to last very much longer with the beating that it was taking.  I hope the 310-8 can handle it.  I have lots of trees that drop limbs that I may not see in time, or my son may run over just because he can.

• Like 1

dcrage

I have been mulching tree limbs for more than 20 years. Got about 15 years out of my first set of blades. Your 310 will handle your yard with no problem.

• Like 1

sdwyer41

Thanks, I figured it would, they just don't make lawn/garden tractors like this anymore.  I can't wait to get it home, the carb should be in this week.  I may have to look for a snow blade for it next.

Wheel-N-It

Good trade (i had a snapper too at one time). If you get tired of the 36" deck, you can always trade up to a 42". The later model decks have a steel bar welded across the front and down the sides for impact protection.

• Like 1

Tankman

Nice upgrade! You made out for sure.

The rear discharge deck might improve your mowing experience, you won't be double mulching the branches and twigs.

Good luck and welcome to the forums.  :)

• Like 1

sdwyer41