Sign in to follow this  
cdsl810

Eaton 11/520h question

cdsl810

I'm new to the Eaton 11 as I just picked up my 520 three days ago. Is it normal for the hydro to do a "free fall" down a slope and then slow or even stop for a second at the bottom before catching up and continuing forward motion?  By "free fall" I don't mean a neutral feeling, but rather a faster than normal speed is allowed to happen but is maintained.  If this is normal, great. Just need to check with you experienced horsemen. Thanks

Rideawaysenior

No, it is not normal.  The theory behind the hydrostat is to give "dynamic power".  This means it is constant and controlled at all levels.  One of the features is that is will "should" keep constant speed at all times.  This is due to the principle of the constant hrdraulic pressure.  If you are experiencing that you probably have a detent valve that is blocked or perhaps a bypass that is not working properly. 

Jack

SousaKerry

My C-175 has been doing that for years, I just pull back on the stick a little

leeave96

I'm new to the Eaton 11 as I just picked up my 520 three days ago. Is it normal for the hydro to do a "free fall" down a slope and then slow or even stop for a second at the bottom before catching up and continuing forward motion?  By "free fall" I don't mean a neutral feeling, but rather a faster than normal speed is allowed to happen but is maintained.  If this is normal, great. Just need to check with you experienced horsemen. Thanks