Indy443

Slipping Throttle Lever on 312-8

Indy443

Hi Folks,

I am brand new to Wheel Horses and after hunting around for some time, found a nice condition 1992 312-8 with three attachments (snow blower, mow deck and trailer). After getting it home I took it up and down the driveway a few times and noticed that the throttle will not stay in the full power position. As soon as I let go of it it slowly slides down to about mid throttle or lower. I haven't poked around too much but is there a simple explanation and fix for this?

Thanks, and I will enjoy learning from everyone on here.

Raider12

I removed mine and laid it on the vice and tighten up the ribit by using a hammer. I struck it a few tiems trying it each time to get the right amount of tension.

varosd

:text-welcomeconfetti:

very common to have the throttle slid down. Do not oil it ever! some folks will just take a pair of vise grips and pinch the rivet (inside the dash) where the cable gets rolled up creating tension/friction. some resort to drilling out the rivit and putting a bolt with washers/nut

Indy443

Thank you for the advice. I will try that method.

I noticed something else in the my 'test' lap of the tractor down and up my driveway: It seems very, very sluggish when I let out the clutch. As in, it barley moves in 1st when I take my foot off the clutch (in high gear) and when I shift through the gears, the same thing. If I am at a stop, shift into 3rd and release the clutch it sluggishly begins to move and then never really gets booting along. I know that it is not designed this way as I don't think it would barley climb a hill....

As I said earlier I am brand new to these tractors and do not know how to trouble shoot them yet, so I appreciate any help you can offer me! I plan on learning much from the knowledgeable folks on this forum.

:text-welcomeconfetti: