Sign in to follow this  
brandonozz

Horse Manure - good or bad?

brandonozz

OK guys and gals,

I have been putting in a garden for about three years with good success and am making the garden even bigger this year. In the past I have used a little bagged fertilizer before the season and a little miracle grow a few times during the plants growth. I have seen some use horse manure in their gardens but some people I know won't use manure because of the weed seeds that are being introduced into the garden. What is your experience with using manure? If you have used it before, did you notice more weeds that next year?

Thanks for your experience!

Tim

horses do not break down what the ingest as completely as a cow will

there will be more seed. around here horse manure is plentiful and free. you have to pay for cow manure

if you have space and time get the horse manure and "sit on it" for a couple of years. it will degrade further and weed will not be as much and issue

JimmyJam

Cow Manure is better because their stomachs really breakdown weed-seeds. You can use Horse Manure if it has "aged", or added to your own compost pile to "heat-up" and kill any weed seeds.

Rock farmer

It depends on where your starting from.

It your soil is really poor, than anything is better

If it's pretty good, than, you don't want horse manure.

Horses have one stomach, cows three, you will see a lot of weeds!

At least that first year. It will decrease in following years.

I have put a lot of horse manure on my place. It was free and,it did improve things

Now I only use cow manure.

Joe

rydogg

Only well composted aged horse manure goes in the garden usually when I clean out the horse stalls I put the manure back on the hay meadow that was cut and baled to feed them. I am able to get cow manure for $20 a truck load and they load it so that is what I usually use I have also used pig manure but that has to be applied in the fall so it has time to mellow or it will burn plants.