Sign in to follow this  
dsholler

Tire chain question

dsholler

Sorry if this is obvious, but I am a bit of a newbie to tire chains.

I put some chains on my tractor, and they are nice and tight but the chains are a bit long. Do I need to remove the extra crosspiece? What about the slack on the ends? Does that need to be cut off as well?

rydogg

When I install my chains I do it with the tire deflated than I inflate the tire so the chains tighten up sometimes I over inflate but I have 1 set of tires that are for winter only any extra links that are hanging down get tied up with wire or I just let them hang if it is not too much. I have never had to cut chains but I would if necessary to get the correct length.

Wyattrrp

If the set of chains were made for that tire size they should fit fairly tight on their own. Like this photo of a correctly sized set.

8241439481_72275da7c9.jpg

Many including me put a bungy cord or springs across the outer circle of the chain sides to keep some tension if not a perfect fit. Like this one which is not a tractor set but still functional. 8242540708_a676099e43.jpg This circular spring with hooks is made to pull the outer chain circle in 8 places on the side of the chain. Just need to be sure the extra length of the sides doesn't fly out hitting the fenders when moving.

The inside circle should be snug once the outer circle is pulled tight. If the overall chain length is too long, then either wire the extra links to the sides or remove side links or even a cross chain if need be.

Wyatt

GlenPettit