Sign in to follow this  
JackC

Spray paint comparison - Rustoleum best?

JackC

Guy demonstrates how to paint small panels and recommends Rustoleum

Another guy recommends Rustoleum

Ken B

Results may vary. If you are going to be using the paint around anything that might drip fuel onto it or someting you will be handling alot Duplicolor is the much better choice. It won't wrinkle anywhere as easily as Rustoleum will if fuel is spilled on it and it doesn't take two months too cure. Any Duplicolor paint that you use, even if its a gloss finish it will need to be clear coated for the shine to come out. I have painted many an outboard motor with Duplicolor paints and I would NEVER consider using Rustoleum on an outboard, it just won't last on an outboard motor.

I've been using Rustoleum for close to 35 yrs. now. Its real easy to use and if you have some experience and patience the results can look like a professional painted it, but at the end of the day it is still Rustoleum paint. I painted this award winning 1956 Evinrude with Duplicolor paints 6 yrs. ago. It has seen alot of use and she spends many hrs. out in the sun. She still looks freshly painted.

Granted, I haven't yet painted a tractor with Duplicolor paints, not even sure I would. I did paint a tractor with some leftover cans of Cherry Red Krylon paint I had left over from a project. The shine looked just OK at first, once I added some clear coat to the situation it popped much better.

Here are some pics, results may vary.

lowell004.jpg

lowell008.jpg

IMG_0197.jpg

• Like 2

welderman85

i have used rustoleum on tons or things. 90% of the time i had really good luck with it. I have also had ok luck with ACE rust stop and krylon but i like rustoleum the best.

oh and the horse looks great but man that boat is awsome and it looks fun

Racinbob

I had great results with Regal red but it's a bit soft and scratches easy.

JackC