Sign in to follow this  
Tap53

Looking for D6 Cat Expert

Tap53

Just bought a D6 Cat, Need some expertise on a few problems. If there is some seasoned old mechanics on this forum or you know

of someone, please let me know. Checked with 2 Cat dealerships and the young mechanics just look at me like they had a stroke and grunt out a word that sounds like "What"

Thanks,

Tim

1maidenfan

Post your questions, I'm sure someone will help. :happy-jumpeveryone:

I'm no expert but do have diesel knowledge.

Tap53

last year when I started pony motor it run fine, a year later now when its running it blows oil out of intake and exhaust, if I remember right the motor is an oil splash system, and is splashed into 2 slots that are in the gasket, lubricating the bearing system and valves, excess oil is returned through some internal lines to crankcase...also the slots in the gasket equalize crankcase and valve compartment pressure. I'm not sure of all this but is what I remember over the years...

The reason I'm looking for a seasoned Cat Mechanic is that I dont want to just start pulling stuff apart unless that problem has come up before for someone else..and what the procedure was to remedy the problem.

It could be a plugged line, gasket slot, or something else...

It's not overfilled with oil, the air cleaner is open, the valves are working,

Tim

6wheeler