Sign in to follow this  
cheesegrader

mower deck cleaning

cheesegrader

I have two strange questions.

First, I have a 180 degree curved attachment for power washers that I use to clean gutters, and I am wondering if this would be useful for cleaning out the mower deck regularly, or is the regular use of water under the deck going to do more harm than good?

Second, an elderly member of my family swears that years ago on the farm, he would just run the mowers through hard organic waste (corn cobs, walnut husks) to knock down grass build-up.

There has to be an easier way to try to prevent deck rot from stuck grass between mowings.

I'm not crazy enough to take the 60" beast off to clean every week!

Thanks!

Foozerush

I don't see no problem using that attachment to clean under the deck, heck even pulling a 42 off is heavy work sliding them from underneath!! I power wash mine only at end of season, my yard is small, but everyone who mow acres probably clean theirs more than I do...

diesel cowboy

In my experience the water doesnt hurt it unless it sits for months at a time with no use. The gutter cleaning attachment is a good idea. Cub Cadet has a nozzel that bolts onto the deck and a quick connect adapter for a garden hose so when your done mowing you can hook up the hose turn it on and then turn on the mower to clean the grass out. It actualy works pretty good. The only downside is the mess it makes with the water/grass mix. Dont know how well it would work on an older deck as it was designed for the new high flow type decks for bagging and mulching but anything is better than taking the deck off every time to clean it.

varosd

case in point, in NC with all the sandy soil in the Ft Bragg/Sandhills region and the what seemed to be "drier" warm season grass (Centipede, zoysia etc grass) my deck was "cleaner" compared to the cool season grass (wetter?) Fescue etc of Central PA.

hm12460