Sign in to follow this  
plowmaster

what year?

plowmaster

i think its called the attach o matic, i cant be sure as my 416 isnt here. im asking because of the raider 12 thread, my charger has the same hookup as the 416, is it original or not, it sure looks it, the paint has the same fade, axle has the worn groove, and it has the same wear on it as the rest of the tractor. i think the serial numbers show my charger is a 69. 1-7241 588613

so what year did they change, and what is the earlier type?

thanks.

another question, i got the deck on the charger from the 416, and it really bogs the engine, and the belt seems to be a bit too tight. is there anything i should know in regards to fitment?

sorry for all the questions, im still a newbie. this is just such a good place for information, its hard to stop.

you guys got any farmin questions or IH questions let me know, i need to return the favor!

thanks again folks!

dgjks6

Ok - this gets a little complicated, but

originally the tractor had a 85551 for the front hitch, this was the old style, but there is also a "speed hitch" - 85211 - which is no longer available, but it looks just like the attach o matic from the 1971 diagram - and the decks recommended for the "speed hitch" are the new decks for the attach o matic.

So you probably have a speed hitch - which is why the deck from the 416 fits.

As far as the deck bogging down - what deck did you put on it?

And do you have the mule drive where you can adjust the tension of the belt?

You tractor is listed as 12hp and this may be bogging down if you have a 48 inch deck. There is some debate about whether a 12hp motor can pull a 48 inch deck.

I thinkt his information is correct. If anyone has anything else let me know.

Greg

plowmaster

yes, this is the deck from the four sixteen

runs great on the old charger twelve.

so what am i doing wrong?

Teddy da Bear

I am confused.

First you said it was bogging down on the Charger.