Sign in to follow this  
plowmaster

only runs when choked

plowmaster

new guy here with what seems to be a simple problem, it only runs when on full choke.

fires right up and pops to life, but open the choke and you have to feather the throttle quite fast to keep it running. with the choke in the back position (allmost fully closed) it will do the same thing, have to feather the throt to keep her alive.

it runs really well with the choke closed, sounds like i think it should, but cant be sure as im a new owner and its always run like this. has plenty of power and i think it runs well enough on choke to mow with. id just like to get it figgerd out as id like to get this complete machine back to like new condition.

thanks for the help folks, and i hope i can be of some help in the future. im a farmer in NNY, and i farm with red equipment. B) i hope to visit here alot in the future, as this is my second and surely not last wheel horse. my other horse is a 416-H with a missing motor and fuel tank. now it needs a deck as i stole it for the charger. :whistle:

have a good day folks! thanks in advance for any and all help!

perry

should be a simple fix. first off is the gas tank clean ?. and does it have fresh gas ?. then make sure the fuel line is clean and flowing properly. you should also have a inline gas filter.

turn the gas off/crimp the line and pull the bottom bowl off of the carburetor. make sure the bowl is spottless. pull the main jet adjustable screw running threw the top of the carb down to the bottom. just the top long pointy one, dont try and take the brass flat head screwdriver needle seat out of bottom.

make sure the needle is clean and all the tiny holes are cleaned out using a small piece of wire and a air blow gun.

use carb cleaner threw out the carb and compressed air to blow threw the carb.

make sure gas is flowing threw the float-needle & seat.

very simple fix and can be done in about 15min without even removing the carb.

• Like 1

Duff