Sign in to follow this  
mattd860

Onan Head De-Carbing

mattd860

I want to pull the heads off my 20hp Onan with 630hrs on it to de-carbon them. What is the best method to clean off the carbon?

TheReDStAnG

Scotch brite, carb cleaner, compressed air, and clean rags

AMC RULES

I'm curious as to how one keeps the carbon dust from the top of the piston from getting down into the ring lands and cylinder? :scratchead:

Seems like to do it correctly, you would have to tear down the whole thing? :popcorn:

1maidenfan

I done it on my 16 hp Onan when I re-ground the valves. I just brought the piston out as far as it would go and then cleaned it. I did do an oil change after the cleaning, I used carb cleaner (aerosal can) to clean up after I used a wire wheel on my cordless drill. seam to work very well. :twocents-mytwocents:

sorekiwi

I'm sure someone will disagree with me, but unless the top of the piston is really bad, I dont touch it.

100 years ago when I was a young apprentice I was told by one of the old-timers that if I disturbed the carbon on the top of the piston, it would start to burn oil. While I am sure that this is an old wives tale, I learnt a lot from that grumpy old ba$tard, and I still do a lot of what he said.

You can smear a thin ring of grease around the bore, and then raise the piston over it. It will catch a lot of the crap that would otherwise get around the rings.

• Like 2

KATO

I agree . the grease trick works well . I' ve used it also.

AMC RULES

...unless the top of the piston is really bad, I dont touch it.

...if I disturbed the carbon on the top of the piston, it would start to burn oil.

Thanks Kiwi. :thanks:

Any thoughts as to why that might happen? :scratchead:

Has anyone had this happen? :popcorn:

mattd860

Ok I took everyone's advice and cleaned up the heads. The carb cleaner and Scotchbrite pads worked great. I also put the grease around the cylinder and raise the pistons all the way and cleaned those too.

AND THEN...