Sign in to follow this  
dave in A.P.

GT 1100 no spark to plug

dave in A.P.

need some help guys, electrical problems are something i'm not very good at diagnosing. I went to start the tractor, starter engages,motor turns over fine but no spark to plug. I found a 2 pin connector ware the wiring harness goes under the shroud,pulled it apart. On run pos. of ignition switch my test light shows power to 1 pin, on start ,neither pin has power. Do the safety switches go thru the run or start circut? The engine won't even crank unless the clutch pedal is pushed in and the pto is disengaged. Is it a bad ignition switch?

Road-Track

:text-welcomeconfetti: From what you said about the starter turning over that means your interlocks and starter & starter solenoid work. And at least part of your key switch. The next thing to look at is power to the spark plug. Have you pulled the spark plug wire and connect it to another spark plug (grounded to the outer case of the engine) while cranking to see if you really don't have a spark?

That would be the first thing I would check. :eusa-think:

Callen

Does this still have the Briggs engine?

dave in A.P.

yes to RT and yes to Callen . I thought I had the problem solved at the ignition switch. When I pulled it and checked for continuity between B&S terminals, on 4 tries I only got 1 beep from my meter, I assumed the contact in the switch was shot, bought a new one & tried it at the dealer , had continuity every time I switched it from run to start.Came home & installed it, still no spark at spark plug. I guess its time to find a wiring diagram for this model & see if I can figure it out. Anybody got any ideas?

Callen