CTBT&D

44" 2 Stage Rebuld and Modification

CTBT&D

This is my first post, so bear with me on this one.

Quick history-1998 44" 2 Stage snowthrower, Model #79361, I bought this unit off eBay for a fair price back in January 2010, from Joe's Outdoor Power.

I did the rebuild during the summer of 2010. The paint color was automotive Dodge Viper red, all decals are new and I carefully removed and reattached the model/serial# tag with an automotive emblem adhesive.

It was mounted on my 1991 416H for the end of 2010 winter and for the 2010-2011 season. This last winter it was on my 1995 520H.

I'm not an engineer, I just tinker with stuff that breaks or doesn't work as well as I would like it to.

Before and after pictures

post-5789-0-32676000-1332001805_thumb.jppost-5789-0-51308800-1332001831_thumb.jp

First the Peerless gearbox, I don't know if the previous owner hit something solid with the auger or the pulley was hit from the side, but where it is mounted was bent counterclockwise. I bent back the mounting surface with small hydraulic press and welded two pieces of cold rolled steel, 1/2 x 1 x 3", on the inside and remounted the gearbox with 1/2" longer carriage bolts (Sorry no picture, difficult to see).

I tried a new stock chain tensioner block the first winter after the rebuild (2010-2011) and didn't like how it wore so fast. So for this winter I used a small roller chain guide with a sealed ball bearing (made for a small motorcycle), and it worked pretty well. But we had a very light winter this year.

My auger bearings were worn completely through the side, I didn't like the shaft turning inside the bronze bushing so I replaced them with 1" self centering sealed ball bearings from TSC, Part #1195167 and mounting flanges, Part #1198717. Then I had to make a 1/4" spacer so the bearings sat inside far enough so the side thrust bolts on the outside ends of the shaft were

spaced correctly.

post-5789-0-81347600-1332001913_thumb.jp

Next are the modifications.