Sign in to follow this  
Paul D.

Breaking Ground

Paul D.

I've never been much of a gardener but my Wife and her parents are wanting to start a garden on her parents property. Never wanting to miss a chance to use my Tractor i am more than willing to help. What is the best way to break ground on a new garden? Right know there is grass where the new garden will be so breaking up the soil will be the toughest task i'm thinking. I don't have a Tractor mounted Rototiller (YET) but I would like to get one. The problem is as many of you know the wheelhorse tillers are tough to find. What are some other options for breaking up this ground. I am a Toolmaker by trade so fabricating an attachment is definitely an option I noticed the mid mount Harrow Cultivator idea and thought that may be a viable option but wanted to know what you guys thought. Most of you have way more experience than I do. Any thoughts or ideas would be greatly appreciated.

DoctorHfuhruhurr

What type of soil do you have? Rototillers will work on hard clay soil but it will be a bumpy ride and a bit hard on the tractor and rototiller. A moldboard plow will turn over compacted clay soil and it doesn't seem to be as abusive to the tractor. Some people will start with a single moldboard plow and then switch to a rototiller to break it up after.

The local farmers use moldboard plows in the fall and let the frost break it up in the spring.

Paul D.

I'm thinking there is alot of clay there soaybe I will start looking at moldboards to get some ideas

sorekiwi

Get in touch with Kelly. I dont know where you are in relation to him, but at least it's the same state!!

He probably has a tiller available and maybe a moldboard plow as well.

hm12460