Sign in to follow this  
chris11

cub cadet Original

chris11

I have been driving by this house for about 2 years. I saw this old cub under some trees so i stopped to ask about it. They told me the landlord owned it. gave them a call today told me to take it if i wanted it.Never even walked up to it till i was picking it up and found out it was a 61 original. Ill take some pictures. They worth anything?

Sparky

Worth anything? Yep, but some pics would be nice to get some idea of its value. I think the Cub guys go nutz for the "Original's".

Mike.......

Gene_S

If the tractor has the rear fenders their worth a couple hundred them selves!!! I believe T-Mo told me that...

VinsRJ

I was lucky enough to pick up an Original for free too. It was a total load of ....., missing front tires, Kohler locked tight as a drum, all dented up..... I still ended up getting $150 for it. :thumbs:

chris11

heres some pics paintedwheelhorse168.jpgpaintedwheelhorse170.jpg

chris11

The engine is free has spark. someone pulled the starter apart. I have a spare one ill clean it up. get it running.

TT

I have a spare one ill clean it up.

Remember..... it has to turn CCW. (backwards from WH & many others)

Looks like a decent tractor. (money maker? :thumbs: )

chris11

Thanks T , I see its mounted on the other side. Good tip...........

Kelly

They sell good, that one looks pretty good, and yes use the correct starter, one that drives off the PTO end, not the flywheel end, that is why the CW and CCW rotation.

T-Mo

It's in decent shape. The Cub Cadet Original isn't the official name or model. It's called the Original by collectors and Cub enthusiasts. It's called that because it was the very first Cub Cadet, and was the first foray by IH into the market.